top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Shenanigans of Lucy and Ellie

The Shenanigans of University

As we're sure you're aware by now, we both went to university and both left (in case we haven't mentioned it enough.) Although the same event, we had very different experiences. Looking back on it, we both truly believe that is was part of the plan for our lives; even if we don't completely understand why just yet.


Lucy's Experience

I took a gap year, and really believed uni was the right thing for me. I was so excited to learn and work towards something I really loved. Before it got to September, I started having extreme anxiety - and on the day could not bare the thought of walking through the doors. But, I am very proud to say that I did it. When I got there, I realised that this wasn't going to be the typical uni experience. The campus itself was very quiet, and the majority of people commuted. When I did have lectures, they weren't as interesting as I had hoped, and some weeks there were no lectures at all. I knew I had to give it a good shot, so I stayed for six months- but was actually quite unhappy. Joint with not learning anything, I decided there had to be a different way around living, but without a degree. I could not have done this without the support of my family, my friends, and most importantly, God.


Ellie's Experience

My experience was one wrapped up in a bundle of emotions that reflecting on, I am incredibly pleased I processed and went through- it has definitely developed my character. I learnt a whole bunch about myself; the situations I am comfortable and uncomfortable with, and certainly about how deeply I am willing to trust God. In a high contrast to Lucy, there were many fascinating lectures and people equally so. I thoroughly enjoyed the practical lessons but the theory and the large amounts of work expected at such short notice, not so much. Having been warned that the course was one of the most full on and stressful in the university, my attitude did a full 360° from 'bring it on' to 'I am not enjoying this at all'. For me, there were more negatives revolving around stress and mental health than the one large positive of a degree. But dropping out of Uni was unheard of to me. You can't leave university can you? You're not going to get anywhere without it are you? Yes you can and yes you are, are the answer to those questions. The change from crying everyday to smiling everyday is a welcomed one, now that I don't study at university.


Uni is not for everyone, and that is okay. Preferring other forms of education is okay. Not wanting higher education is also okay, because from there our adventures have begun!


Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders

Let me walk upon the waters

Wherever you may call me

Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander

And my faith will be made stronger

In the presence of my saviour

- Oceans, Hillsong UNITED

- Lucy & Ellie x

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page